Autonerdz Home Autonerdz FAQ User’s Comments Autonerdz Events Autonerdz Store Contact Autonerdz

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Autonerdz - Since 2000, North America's Authority on PicoScope

HomeHelpSearch Member Map Event CalendarRegisterLogin  

believable ht patterns. (Read 4,371 times)
jez1342
Freshman Member
Picogroup

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

weymouth, dorset, United Kingdom
weymouth, dorset
United Kingdom

believable ht patterns.
May 22nd, 2006 at 6:44am

i am having trouble with the patterns displayed for secondary ignition using the settings from the drop down automotive menu. the traces i get look nothing like the ones shown on the help file.
i've turned up the samples per trace and have tried block mode, and neither work any better.
are there a definitive bunch of settings that will universally work?
as a novice i find it difficult to trust the views i get on the scope. this knocks confidence and prevents me gaining any experience in diagnosing ht faults with the scope. i'ld like to simulate faults on a ht circuit but cant if i'm unable to believe  the waveforms/.

many thanks, jez.

in the UK. raining as usual!

IP Logged

Tom Roberts
Autonerdz Administrator
Picogroup

Autonerdz Founder

Olympia, Washington, USA
Olympia
Washington
USA

Re: believable ht patterns.
Reply #1 - May 22nd, 2006 at 7:53am

Hi Jez,

You don't mention what unit you are using.  How high you can turn up your samples depends on the unit you are using.  The amount of time you can put on the screen and maintain resolution is also affected.  

You also don't mention the application you are using your equipment on, or the test point.  This is also important.  Using good triggering also helps position the capture on the screen.

You will find many examples of secondary in this thread:

http://www.autonerdz.com/cgi/yabb2/YaBB.pl?board=picopub;action=display;num=1077...

You may want to consider joining the Autonerdz support group.  Why?  Read what members say: