Autonerdz Home Autonerdz FAQ User’s Comments Autonerdz Events Autonerdz Store Contact Autonerdz

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Autonerdz - Since 2000, North America's Authority on PicoScope

HomeHelpSearch Member Map Event CalendarRegisterLogin  

Time Lag between Channels? (Read 4,544 times)
George Ge
Freshman Member
Picogroup

Time Lag between Channels?
May 18th, 2007 at 11:48pm

Hi, All:

Okay, I'm a new guy in the block, doesn't mean I can beat you someday later, does it?:-) Tom, I appreciate your fast shiiping.

I'm a MB dealer tech. Recently, there are repeated cases about new MB 272, 273 engines' Camshaft problems. Mainly, MIL on with Cam sensors problems or ME (ECM) reports variable cam timing not right. I don't think I understand the reason, thus trying to probe a little more into it.

I'm trying to establish some reference for later. This is a new vehicle ML164 with 4 miles on the clock, I'm doing a PDI (Pre Delievery Inspection), no problem (what would you think otherwise?:-). I was told base Cam timing should be lined up. True? Or my scope setting not right?

Thanks,

IP Logged

Tom Roberts
Autonerdz Administrator
Picogroup

Autonerdz Founder

Olympia, Washington, USA
Olympia
Washington
USA

Re: Time Lag between Channels?
Reply #1 - May 19th, 2007 at 9:01am

Hi George,

Excellent PicoScope 5 capture.  You have 78,125 samples per channel there with a 6.4 microsecond sample interval.  Channel time offset on the 3000 series is always 50 nanoseconds, regardless of sample rate.  For all practical purposes, this is simultaneous.  The only time channels won't be in sync is if you choose alternate sampling, which you have not.

I am not at all familiar with this application but usually VVT engine controllers look at CKP/CMP shifts to monitor the cam timing changes.  Might want to snag some examples of CKP/CMP relationships.

Perhaps one of our resident experts would have some input on this system.