Autonerdz Home Autonerdz FAQ User’s Comments Autonerdz Events Autonerdz Store Contact Autonerdz

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Autonerdz - Since 2000, North America's Authority on PicoScope

HomeHelpSearch Member Map Event CalendarRegisterLogin  

Starting the pico journey in Norway (Read 2,925 times)
Geir Tore Simonsen
Freshman Member
Picogroup

Lier, Norway
Lier
Norway

Starting the pico journey in Norway
Apr 12th, 2015 at 4:31pm

Hi, new nerd from Norway here Smiley

I'm not a professional technician and don't intend to work on other cars than my own and maybe friends/family in the foreseeable future, but I'm quite dedicated to being self sufficient when it comes to maintaining and repairing my own vehicles.

As a teenager I used to work at the shop where my father was manager during my school vacations. They were mostly rebuilding 50-60 litre V12 MTU diesel engines, but also did some machining on random things that came through the door. Of course I had to do a lot of mundane tasks there like washing parts and cleaning the floor, but I also got to do interesting stuff. Like grinding valves and seats, resurfacing cylinder heads, using liquid nitrogen and a hydraulic press to install new valve guides, using reamers to bring the new guides to spec, rebuild and adjust injectors etc. I also used the lathe and mill, although mostly to make special tools as needed. I learned a lot there, but I don't think I realized at the time how lucky I was.

As an adult I went to university and got a "sivilingeniør" degree (roughly equivalent to a MSc.) in mechanical engineering (HVAC), and for the last 17 years I have been designing HVAC and lately also sprinkler systems in buildings. Unfortunately, during most of that time I have been living in an apartment with nowhere to perform repairs myself, except for really basic stuff.