Autonerdz Home Autonerdz FAQ User’s Comments Autonerdz Events Autonerdz Store Contact Autonerdz

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Autonerdz - Since 2000, North America's Authority on PicoScope

HomeHelpSearch Member Map Event CalendarRegisterLogin  

Whats the value in a quality scope? (Read 2,453 times)
DerekJ
Freshman Member

I'm an Autonerd

Whats the value in a quality scope?
Apr 14th, 2020 at 6:43pm

So, this is a super noob question, I can only thoroughly assume.

For some background: I stumbled on this site when I was trying to determine some 6.0 power stroke tcm/ficm theory of operation. I am a diesel mechanic working at a John Deere dealer and do a lot of electrical diagnostics. When I went to school I learned about controller inputs/outputs/pwm etc. So I am fairly new generation. The only scope exposure I had in school was geared towards sine and square wave demonstrating position sensor and pwm. At work I do work with CAN (250K mostly), but admittedly I am not as knowledgable as I wish I was.

Ultimately, my question is... How more effective would I be at electronic diagnostics, if I had a good scope, in my profession? What are some diagnostics scenarios where resistance, voltage drop, and load tests would not be sufficient?

Thanks for any insight!

IP Logged

Doug S.
Super Nerd
Picogroup

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

Everett, Washington, USA
Everett
Washington
USA

Re: Whats the value in a quality scope?
Reply #1 - Apr 14th, 2020 at 9:12pm

DerekJ wrote on Apr 14th, 2020 at 6:43pm:
Ultimately, my question is... How more effective would I be at electronic diagnostics, if I had a good scope, in my profession? What are some diagnostics scenarios where resistance, voltage drop, and load tests would not be sufficient?