Autonerdz Home Autonerdz FAQ User’s Comments Autonerdz Events Autonerdz Store Contact Autonerdz

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Autonerdz - Since 2000, North America's Authority on PicoScope

HomeHelpSearch Member Map Event CalendarRegisterLogin  

Boost solenoid deadtime. (Read 5,602 times)
Steve J
Freshman Member
Picogroup

I'm an Autonerd

Brattvåg, Norway
Brattvåg
Norway

Boost solenoid deadtime.
Aug 5th, 2018 at 3:54am

Hello all. Im new to this site (and picoscope) and figured i would say hi this way.
Im a tech from Norway. Been working with several different dealerships over the years and now im with a MB/Peugeot/Kia shop. (pluss every other brand in addition so we have a big span on what we do) We dont sell cars but soley work on them. One thing none of the shops i have been working at did not have was a scope. Nor does my current one. Always missed one and just decided to buy one for myself. Gonna use it mostly at work though (the shops usually provide us with tools here. There is only a few places where the techs own the tools they use at work). Dont have any experience with scopes on a car, and have only sporadicaly used one in another hobby of mine (repairing stereo equipment like amps and receivers and such). I have a Rigol 1054z for that. But havent used it much. So i consider myself as a neewb to this all...

So yesterday i got my scope delivered and figured i would have a little playaround with it today in my garage.
I have tuning as a hobby and got an aftermarket ECU in my car. In this ecu i have the option to use a deadtime table for my boostsolenoid(s). Just like injector deadtimes. When thinking about it why shouldnt we have one(?)

Hooked the scope up to solenoid control wire and an ampclamp. Also hooked a WPS500 to the exhaustport of the solenoid and a vacuumpump (in pressure mode) to the inletport on it.