Autonerdz Home Autonerdz FAQ User’s Comments Autonerdz Events Autonerdz Store Contact Autonerdz

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Autonerdz - Since 2000, North America's Authority on PicoScope

HomeHelpSearch Member Map Event CalendarRegisterLogin  

Hello from Rochester, NY. New member. (Read 3,153 times)
mrgmhale
Freshman Member

I'm an Autonerd

Hello from Rochester, NY. New member.
Aug 20th, 2017 at 1:26pm

Greetings all!

I am an old school technician, from the mid-70s - early 80s.  In the mid-80s I got scooped up into the computer revolution.  Now in my early 60s I recall how back when I worked as a tech "old timers" (like me now) used to tell me they used to be auto mechanics, and would tell me how complex things had gotten with "modern cars."  Well, here I am, over 35 years later, and I could easily say the same thing.

But, there is a difference.  Just because I got sucked up into the computer world does not mean I turned my back on the automotive industry.  Rather, I leveraged my business and dealership/technician experiences and brought all kinds of interesting value to the retail dealership industry.  So I did not lose total touch, but I did lose some ground re: newer diagnostic equipment capabilities.

Back "in my day" the very nicest diagnostic equipment came from the Sun Electric Corporation.  I was very handy with Sun brand oscilloscopes and related machines when it came to diagnostic equipment.  But, that was then.  This is now.  Kind of...

I just purchased an old school 1969 Shelby GT500 that has been fully and beautifully restored (I am no longer medically able to do the kind of work needed to restore one on my own).  And despite some medical limitations I feel I can still dink around with the 428CJ engine a bit.  To that end I was starting to look around for an old Sun scope.  But the ones I have found are either inoperative, too far away to fetch, or are much older units with pre-induction secondary leads.