Autonerdz Home Autonerdz FAQ User’s Comments Autonerdz Events Autonerdz Store Contact Autonerdz

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Autonerdz - Since 2000, North America's Authority on PicoScope

HomeHelpSearch Member Map Event CalendarRegisterLogin  

Career change (Read 3,407 times)
STipping
Freshman Member
Student

I'm an Autonerd

Career change
Jul 31st, 2017 at 10:25pm

Hello all,
Just joined not too long ago. I've been the lead diagnostic tech at my current shop for the last 6 years. This spring I interviewed and took a full time job at the technical college that I graduated from. I will be teaching Drivability, Diagnostics, Emissions, Fuel systems, Engine repair, Air conditioning, and Air bag systems. Still swinging wrenches around on the weekends.

I'll be honest, I thought I knew a decent amount about all those areas of study 3 months ago, but for whatever reason when you know you are going to teach someone else you start to question your quality and quantity of knowledge. Well in my quest for more knowledge one of the places I ended up was these forums and let me say I'm absolutely humbled by the intelligent people in this group. Amazing information and Diagnostic insight. I thought I was pretty flashy with my scope, but I look like a kindergartener in here!
But that excites me! I can't wait to learn more, and even more excited to pass that knowledge on to the next generation of techs! SOO to make a short story long, this looks like a great group and I am happy to have joined. Thanks in advance to anyone who helps me out!

IP Logged

Tom Roberts
Autonerdz Administrator
Picogroup

Autonerdz Founder

Olympia, Washington, USA
Olympia
Washington
USA

Re: Career change
Reply #1 - Aug 1st, 2017 at 2:04pm

Welcome Sean,

I know the feeling.  I am humbled each day here myself.

We are glad you are here and look forward to your contributions.